Pasta with Tomato Cream Sauce and Venison

They say necessity is the mother of invention.

Indeed. I needed to eat a meal, and I have very little food at my house right now. Since I return to the land of northerners in less than a week, a trip to the grocery store seemed like a bad idea. Thus began tonight’s journey with a simple can of tomato paste dangerously nearing its expiration date, some ground venison in the freezer, and a box of pasta.

Then, it occurred to me that I also had cream, garlic, and olive oil. Apparently, that was enough to do the trick. I’ve never made a tomato cream sauce, so I didn’t know what would happen when I poured cream into the saute pan. It was a terrifying moment. What if I ruined the whole concoction? I had a ramen noodle packet looming at me from the back of the cabinet, but the thought of eating it gave me goose bumps.

Perhaps I am being melodramatic…

This pasta with tomato cream sauce and venison turned out to be really, really good, much better than the meals I put time and energy into. Except for cheesecake. Cheesecake is always worth the time and energy.

Unfortunately, the camera on the old Android has deteriorated to the point that my pictures stink. Trust me on this one, though, this is a delicious and comforting mid-week meal.

Pasta with Tomato Cream Sauce and Venison

1 6 oz. can tomato paste

1 garlic clove, chopped

1/2 pound ground venison

1/2 cup to 1 cup heavy cream

Salt, pepper, thyme, and sage to taste (about 1/2 tsp. each)

1 box of whole wheat penne pasta

In a saucepan, brown the defrosted ground venison. Boil water in a separate pot and cook the pasta. As the venison browns, add the garlic. Once the garlic and venison are cooked, add the tomato paste and stir. Add herbs to taste and heavy cream, and simmer for about 5 minutes. Drain the cooked pasta and add the pasta to the saute pan, stirring to coat with the sauce. If you have cheese, that would be a lovely addition. Evidently, I went cheese-less and still enjoyed the meal.

One thought on “Pasta with Tomato Cream Sauce and Venison

Leave a Reply

