Apple Raspberry Pie is a Gluten Free Wonder

Who’d have thought? Apples make an almost creamy suspension for little jewels of raspberry; a combo never before in my kitchen or on any menu I’ve ever seen before. The flavors melt into comforting warming goodness with no need for sprucing up using spices -of course a dollop of cream or ice cream makes it…Mmmmm – but isn’t that kind of simplicity what makes comfort food comforting?  Making it gluten free is easy if you use the Pate Brisee recipe I posted back in February. That recipe makes enough for two lattice pies. It’s no big deal to replace the flour in the fruit with gf flour.

I’m not going to spend too much time on this, but I’ll tell you a little story and then refer you to the Martha Stewart recipe I (sort of) followed.

A few weeks ago my sister, daughter and I loaded up the car to go visit my youngest daughter (KJ to you). That’s right, my blogging partner. She’s in grad school at a beautiful university in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Late October was gorgeous with the leaves beginning to turn, the orchards full of ripe apples and vineyards offering those emerging wines. We spent a few hours lulling in the sun at this cool orchard where the price of a bushel of apples was shamefully cheap. So I bought Golden Delicious and Red Rome apples, brought them home and have been enjoying them ever since. Here we are. 🙂Yep! It was a picture perfect day, designed for play.

The raspberries were winding seriously down to about 1/2 cup a day. This pie was a way to blend the summer flavors of fresh berries with the fall apples. And it was a great marriage of flavors. Keep in mind that there were no spices needed.  I made this pie twice and the 2nd time I chose to try a deep dish pie. It was equally wonderful and of course used more apples. I always go heavy on fruit and light on sugar if possible. So I barely added as much sugar as the following recipe calls for and added 2 more apples to the pie recipe than she called for. For the deep dish version I added another 4 apples. Used golden delicious and red rome combination. For the pie, like the pastry, I used a gluten free flour mix. My choice is always either Jules or Domata Living Flour.

And (here is a good option to feed more people) this makes a great slab pie, similar to my Strawberry Rhubarb Slab Pie from earlier this summer.

Click here for the recipe: Martha Stewart Apple Raspberry Pie

Leave a Reply

