Autumn Raspberry Custard Tart

Autumn may be here, but she hasn’t whispered that to our raspberry bushes. I love this time of year when the brilliant red berries glow under a still hot sun which – thankfully – arrives mid morning after the mist rises.  The cooling earth and the mist and turning leaves makes me want to savor those precious last raspberries more than I do in June when they seem like they’ll last forever.

At the end of April we had an enormous snowstorm that crushed some of the tender shoots that had begun to green. We had a good raspberry season but I do think we lost about 30% of what we could have had. That’s why there’s no cordial being made from the late crop.  So what should I do with those lovely gems?  I came across some really awesome looking recipes and advice from friends. Everything from “Eat them like popcorn” (which we did) to making jam (the Berry Patch near our home does that the best) to serving under chocolate (excuse me, that’s an every night before we go to bed snack around here).

I wanted nothing but pure raspberry flavor to come through and I could just imagine the raspberries drowned in nothing but cream – but that’s way too decadent don’t you think? said no one ever!

I found this recipe http://foodforpoems.blogspot.com/2010/03/raspberry-custard-tart.html She doesn’t blog anymore, but I like the idea she had about food for poems so I just knew this would be a great recipe.  It turned out perfect but I did change two little things: I filled those raspberries so that you could not see the bottom of the pan at all, and I used the gluten free Pate’ Brisee’ recipe you’ll find in our archives. I should have chilled the dough before I made it but I was impatient.

Here’s to the beautiful raspberry – mine’s Joan J. I think each ripening fruit and vegetable in the garden deserves to be singled out and enjoyed. Pure. Simple. Unadulterated fullness of flavor. That’s what you get in this custard tart. 

3 thoughts on “Autumn Raspberry Custard Tart

    • Me too! I’ve been accused of loving them too much. This week I made a first – blended some raspberries into an apple pie, in honor of summer-fall. It was delicious and needed no spices whatsoever. Imagine that! If you look through my blog you’ll see a Raspberry Cordial made last year from the abundance in September.

Leave a Reply

