Honey Ricotta Cake – A Wonderful Treat

Ever stumble across a recipe you find intriguing?  That was the case with this Honey Ricotta Cake.  The flavors and method were somewhat unfamiliar.  I get cheesecake. I get cake.  But boy am glad I tried this.  It’s delicious!

It started because a friend of mine, a dear friend who I wish wish wish used gluten free flour because she’s such an amazing cook, baked a beautiful cake with a name totally out there – some sort of ethnic celebration traditional cake.  As I stood in the group of mumbling lip smacker yummy sound makers with a plate in my hand, carefully nibbling at the touch of whipped cream, the single strawberry, and staring at the beautiful dense texture and color I vowed (silently) that I too would make something new that maybe looked like that.  So back to my computer to search out something good.

By the way, this cake is an ethnic celebration cake too.  It’s Greek name is Melopita.  I have no idea if there’s a better recipe, since this is the only one I’ve ever tasted, but I don’t care. This one is a marvelous cake!

Go back a moment…I first looked in my fridge to see what ingredients I had.  A while back I’d purchased a big container of ricotta cheese for a recipe I didn’t make.  I had a half jar of Scottish Heather Honey in the cupboard that risked crystallizing, but was amazing in flavor.  I typed the words ‘recipe   honey   ricotta   and browsed through recipes until this one screamed “TRY ME!”.

Measure and lay out what you will need, like this

This honey had such an interesting flavor.

4 1/2 tablespoons sugar, divided (3 1/2 and 1 )

2 extra large eggs

2 tablespoons brown rice flour or other gluten free flour (can use wheat if preferred)

4 1/2 tablespoons strongly flavored honey like wildflower, heather, or a good local honey

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1 tablespoon brandy (if your honey isn’t flavorful perhaps an apricot brandy could be used?- Just a thought)

18 ounces soft ricotta

2 teaspoons cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350, butter a 10 inch ceramic pie plate or tart pan.

In a large bowl, beat eggs with 3 1/2 tablespoons sugar until creamy, approximately 3 minutes.

Beat in flour and add honey, beating till well combined.  Add lemon juice and brandy and beat till combined.

Add ricotta cheese and beat until creamy and combined thoroughly, about 2 minutes.

*not a great photo, but as you can see you just dump the ricotta into the bowl. Now you pour the mixture into the prepared pan.

Bake it until the center is set and it begins to come away from the sides of the pan, about 30 minutes.  Once it’s baked it will look like a cheesecake with some cracks in the top.

Place cake on cooling rack and sprinkle with the remaining tablespoon of sugar

Then finish with a generous sprinkling of cinnamon

Enjoy!!!

3 thoughts on “Honey Ricotta Cake – A Wonderful Treat

    • Thanks for stopping by, Kendra. You’ll enjoy it, especially if you can get your hands of a lovely scented honey.

    • And oh this is so funny. I didn’t know who this was until I looked at your picture, haha. I didn’t know you then, but that face hasn’t changed one bit!

Leave a Reply

