Hot Fudge Sauce For Real Girls (and the men who love them)

My idea of perfection!

I don’t even know where to begin with this topic.  But okay, since we’re talking about chocolate – I have plenty to say. Let’s start with a confession:  I always choose vanilla ice cream over chocolate.  I asked for, and got, every piece of white chocolate the Easter Bunny brought my siblings and friends and in exchange gave them (hard  to fathom) all of my brown chocolate.  Then I learned white chocolate wasn’t real chocolate anyway.  Well okay then.  So now you know, and maybe you’ll not respect my title for this recipe because of that.  But this is  fact

.  When I finally grew up and got to choose my own chocolate I went with chocolate that contained 70%-80% chocolate, not some wishy washy sort of chocolate that was more like a cup of cocoa.

I just said that.

I don’t mean to offend any milk chocolate lovers but I am a “real deal” kind of girl.  Give me vanilla that’s rich and flecked with tiny bits of vanilla bean and exotic orchid perfume.  Give me chocolate; rich, dark and totally satisfying with elusive notes. Hope that gets you set for an amazing experience in chocolate decadence.  This is your last stop in the search for good chocolate sauce.

Heck, I’ll take a spoon to the refrigerator for this incredible stuff and feel no guilt-that’s right girls I said no guilt- if someone happens to catch me in the act – grab a spoon!  After all, I am a woman and if I don’t get my chocolate someone will pay!

How long do you think it took me to go from that….to this?

Gone In (less than) 60 Seconds!

This is a very simple and easy recipe that won’t fail you.  All you need is the best quality unsweetened Dutch Cocoa, butter, cream and brown and cane sugar.  There is a bonus.  It is less expensive and more delicious than what comes from the store shelf.

Cream:  1/2 Cup

Butter: 3 Tablespoons unsalted

Dutch process unsweetened cocoa powder: 1/2 Cup

Sugar: 1/3 Cup

Brown Sugar: 1/3 Cup

Salt: pinch

Heat the cream and butter to boiling is a medium sized saucepan.

Lower heat to medium and stir in both white and brown sugars, stirring to dissolve.  Lower heat again to low and whisk in cocoa and salt.  Slowly whisk until all the cocoa is incorporated into the hot cream

Continue to slowly stir until there are no more lumps and the sauce is smooth and creamy

Pack it up into a big mason jar and keep it in the refrigerator.  I’ve found it can keep several months, but it won’t last that long!

Remember, the reason I posted this is so that you can drizzle this over the Benz L’orange.  Dark chocolate and orange are a match made in heaven.  

4 thoughts on “Hot Fudge Sauce For Real Girls (and the men who love them)

    • Ahhh YES! You’ve come to the right sauce. I don’t know why this one is that much better than all others I’ve tried, but it is. Enjoy-on top-on the sides-and pour it in before you add ice cream!

  1. Yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes YES! Dean loves chocolate but can’t eat much of it without getting wired these days. I refuse to eat it right under his nose, but I do keep a hidden stash of super dark chocolate (with almonds and sea salt) for those moments when nothing else will satisfy. I am making a jar of this TODAY.

Leave a Reply

