Favorite Chocolate-Chip Scones from Plums

I’d like to show you my favorite scone recipe. This is from a wonderful little book by Elizabeth Alston called Biscuits and Scones: 62 Recipes from Breakfast Biscuits to Homey Desserts. Published in 1988, a year after I was born, this book contains delicious scone recipes and can be credited with starting my love affair with scones. As you can see in the note one the recipe in the picture, I have been enjoying this recipe since at least April of 1993. Wow.

There it is. Thanks to technology, that fancy thing called a scanner, my mom sent me the instructions straight from the book.

Not everyone finds the scone to be such an important pastry, and I am convinced that this is because their exposure is limited: they tried a dry, crumbly excuse for a pastry from a chain coffee shop (cough Starbucks cough) and quickly wrote off the entire scone family. What a shame.

I have made it my prerogative to change the scone’s reputation. If, when I die, my friends can say about me that I shared the love of scones, I will be a happy girl.

The thing is, this recipe produces a pastry that is light, somewhat flaky, buttery, and just sweet enough but not too sweet. I usually decrease the amount of sugar I add but make up for it by adding extra chocolate-chips. I have tried both buttermilk and plain yogurt in the recipe, and I think I do like yogurt a little better. It produces a slightly richer, moister scone. However, today I used buttermilk and these turned out to be a real treat next to my Sunday latte.

To try the original recipe, save the screenshot above to your desktop. My modifications are below. It’s basically the same except I use less sugar, more chocolate chips, and bake for less time to keep the scones soft.

Favorite Chocolate-Chip Scones from Plums

3 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature
1/4 cup granulated sugar
3 large eggs
1/3 cup buttermilk or plain greek yogurt
3/4 cup dark chocolate chips

Mix flour and baking powder in a bowl. With an electric mixer, beat butter on high until creamy. Add sugar and beat for a few minutes until pale and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating after each.

Scrape sides of bowl; reduce speed to low. Add flour mixture; mix until only blended. Scrape sides; add buttermilk or yogurt and mix only until blended. Sprinkle chocolate cips over the batter and fold in.

Scoop 1/3 cupfuls of dough onto an ungreased cookie sheet, placing the mounds 2 inches apart. Refrigerate for about 45 minutes (or freeze, and when hard, remove and place in a plastic bag and freeze for up to 6 weeks).

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Bake scones for 15 minutes. Turn heat down to 325 and bake about 10 minutes longer, or until pale golden brown. Cool, uncovered, on a wire rack.

Best enjoyed on the porch with french press coffee.

Leave a Reply

