Sunday Morning Edition: Taylor’s Whole-Wheat Oatmeal Pancakes with Tennesse Honey Syrup

I’m full.

That’s because my plate initially looked like this:

I woke up this morning feeling my oats. If you haven’t heard that expression, that’s something we say about horses when they’re hyper due to eating too many oats. Story of my life.

So I decided to make the morning a little special by cooking pancakes (with oats, of course). BUT the best way to make the morning special is with a gem that both my mom and I love: a fluffy big latte.

A latte, some “healthy” pancakes, and some Django Reinhardt on Pandora, and we’ve got a nice little Sunday. It was a purely joyous one until I remembered that today, March 11, 2012, is the anniversary of the tsunami and earthquake that hit Japan a year ago. This strikes particularly close to home because one of my dear friends and sorority sisters Taylor Anderson was a victim of the tragedy since she was in Japan teaching English. But you know what, instead of a sense of pure loss and sadness, today I am reminded that Taylor was such a special person in that she pursued her dream. She’s the pretty brunette to the right.

In college, Taylor and I had a couple of Art History classes together, and I particularly remember our Oriental Art class. This was my least favorite Art History class because the terminology was all so foreign to me, but I remember Taylor just loving that class. She knew very early in her life that her dream was to live in Japan, and guess what, she did it. As I am confronted with choices in life, I realize that following one’s dream is often a very scary thing to do. It is much easier to stay secure and content with what you know – surrounded with the people you love, holding a steady job, and just getting by in life. It would be so sad to get to the end of life realizing you never took that leap of faith to chase down your dream.

So here’s to you, Taylor Anderson, I cheers a pancake in your memory. It is all too appropriate a breakfast to commemorate a college friend; mornings spent in our sweatpants in the cafeteria are some of my best college memories. And because Taylor always had a fun side, I poured a couple of tablespoons of Jack Daniels into this mix, just as something extra to celebrate life.

Taylor’s Whole-Wheat Oatmeal Pancakes with Tennessee Honey Syrup

1/2 cup rolled quick-cooking oats

1 cup water

3/4 cups whole-wheat flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 egg, lightly beaten

1 cup milk

1 tablespoon Jack Daniels Tennessee Honey

Cook oatmeal in the water in microwave on high for 2 minutes. Set aside. In a large bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients. In a separate bowl, mix the egg and cup of milk. Combine dry and liquid ingredients, add oatmeal, and stir until combined. Add 1 tablespoon of Jack Daniels Tennessee Honey and stir. Cook pancakes over medium heat. Once bubbles appear, flip the pancake.

Tennessee Honey Syrup

1 tablespoon butter

1 sliced banana

1/3 cup chopped walnuts

3 tablespoons maple syrup

1 tablespoon Jack Daniels Tennessee Honey

Heat butter in saucepan over medium heat until melted. Add sliced banana, chopped walnuts, maple syrup, and Jack Daniels. Stir until combined and warm.

4 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Edition: Taylor’s Whole-Wheat Oatmeal Pancakes with Tennesse Honey Syrup

Leave a Reply

