Breakfast-Style Brown Rice Pudding with Buttermilk and Apples

I’ve never been a huge fan of rice pudding, but when I found myself with some excess buttermilk in my fridge, I thought I’d modify a recipe my mom sent me. 

Rice pudding is simple, inexpensive, and comforting. It’s perfect for a cold winter morning or as an after-dinner sweet with some ice cream. A breakfast dish that doubles as dessert? It doesn’t get any better than that.

This specific recipe, though, is more appropriate for breakfast. It uses less sugar than a traditional rice pudding, calls for brown rice instead of white rice, and replaces cream with buttermilk. If you are making it for dessert, use white rice and a combo of cream and milk instead. That’ll definitely yield a richer pudding.

Like a cheesecake, rice pudding benefits from baking in a water bath. Since you will use a casserole pan to bake the pudding, you do not need to wrap it in tin foil (unlike a spring form pan, no water will seep into a casserole pan).

The casserole pan sits within a larger pan filled with water.

I’m still not in love with rice pudding, but I think that’s because I have this awful sweet tooth. I topped mine not only with more brown sugar and cinnamon, but with some maple syrup and steamed milk. So basically I had dessert for breakfast. Oh well. I tried.

Breakfast-Style Brown Rice Pudding with Buttermilk and Apples

1 1/2 cups cooked brown rice, made without salt
1 Tblsp butter
3 eggs
2 1/2 cups buttermilk
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
1/4 tsp. salt
1 Tblsp. butter
Cinnamon to taste
Cardamom to taste
1/4 cup chopped walnuts
1/4 cup chopped almonds
Plain greek yogurt for topping

Pre-heat over to 350 degrees. Prepare rice and set aside.

Heat buttermilk and butter until hot and steaming, but not boiling.

Beat eggs until light and creamy and add in brown sugar, vanilla, and salt. Beat thoroughly.

Add rice to egg mixture and stir slowly, adding hot milk mixture gradually so that the hot milk does not cook the eggs.

Pour mixture into a buttered casserole dish, sprinkle with cinnamon and cardamom.

Place casserole dish in water bath of boiling water.

Bake for 45 minutes at 350 degrees until the edges begin to brown, but the center is still giggly.

Be careful not to over cook. Remove from oven and allow to cool for 10 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

