Sunday Morning Edition: Poached Egg on an English Muffin with Kale, Tomato, and Onion

Near my house is a coffee shop that serves great lattes and these wonderful breakfast sandwiches with poached eggs and sausage. From time to time, I enjoy treating myself to breakfast there. This morning, I decided to make my own version of their poached egg sandwich. I added kale, tomato and onion (left out the sausage) and it turned out just as – if not more – delicious than the restaurant version.

It is a beautiful 75 degree day here in Arlington, so I’ll make this brief so that I can return to frolicking outdoors! I’ve never poached an egg before, but luckily a friend’s blog has a great description of how to do it. Sure enough, my poached egg turned out perfectly. You can check out those instructions on Apron Strings to Diamond Rings.

Poached Egg English Muffin with Kale, Tomato, and Onion

1 English Muffin, toasted

1 medium egg

A handful of kale

2 slices of yellow onion

1 slice of tomato

A dash of cayenne pepper

Parmesan cheese

Salt and pepper to taste

Poach egg in a medium sauce pan for three minutes, or until the white is cooked and the yolk is still drippy.

Gently remove the egg from the sauce pan and place in a bowl. Set aside. In the meantime, saute yellow onion, tomato slice, and kale in olive oil until cooked.

Toast muffin and assemble the egg and vegetables. Sprinkle with cayenne pepper, salt, pepper, and parmesan cheese to taste. This is truly delicious. Try it!

Leave a Reply

